Monash University
Faculty of Information Technology

Research Fellows

Research Fellows in MML machine learning, data mining and info' technology
Faculty of Information Technology, Monash University, Australia

As part of its goal to cement its position as Australia's premier
academic institution for information technology research, the
Faculty of Information Technology of Monash University has
established the IT Research Fellowship Scheme to attract outstanding
early career researchers in any field of information technology to
Monash University.

The positions are for up to three years and the salary is in the
Research Fellow Level B range, Aus$52,881 to Aus$62,797 per annum
depending upon experience.  In addition, Fellowship holders are
eligible for Research Support Grants which can be up to Aus$10,000 per
annum depending on the needs of the research program.  Return airfares
may be available for successful applicants and their dependants.

The Faculty of Information Technology was creasted in 1990.  It is
Australia's largest faculty exclusively devoted to information
technology, with 230 academics.  It has an enviable research
reputation in virtually all aspects of information technology and
produces more research postgraduates than any other Australian
university.  Research in the faculty is centred around eight research
groups which cover:
artificial intelligence and machine learning (including Minimum Message
Length (MML));  distributed systems, mobile computing and software
engineering;  operations research techniques for intelligent decision
support;  information systems and information management;
digital communications and multimedia;  and  computer education.

The MML group includes, among others, Emeritus Prof. Chris Wallace and
Dr David Dowe.  Two of their best-known works are:

   Wallace C.S. & Boulton, D.M.,  "An Information Measure for
  Classification",  Computer Journal, Vol.11, No.2, 1968, pp 185-194


   Wallace, C.S. and D.L. Dowe (1999).  Minimum Message Length and
  Kolmogorov Complexity, Computer Journal, Vol. 42, No. 4, pp 270-283.

Application forms and selection documentation should be accessible
electronically on the World Wide Web (WWW) at
and information about the Faculty of Information Technology and some
of its research can be found at .

Location: The appointees may be based at Clayton, Caulfield,
Peninsula, Gippsland or Berwick campuses.  The MML group is currently
located entirely at Monash University's main campus, the Clayton campus,
in the Melbourne suburb of Clayton, which is about a 15-minute or
20-minute drive south-east of the city along the Monash Freeway.

Contact: Further information and particulars of the application
procedure may be obtained from Professor Don Schauder, Associate
Dean of Research, Faculty of Information Technology:
Tel.: +61 3 9903-2847   Fax: +61 3 9903-2745  or
e-mail: .

Applications to:

Ms Marguerite Jones-Roberts,  Director
Academic Services,  Faculty of Information Technology
Monash University (Caulfield campus)
P.O. Box 197, Caulfield East
Vic. 3145, Australia

by   Wedn. 2nd October 2002 (or as soon as possible thereafter).

Quote Ref. No.: A023859 and include curriculum vitae and the names
(with phone and facsimile numbers) of at least three referees in
your application.

Monash University reserves the right to make multiple appointments
in regard to each advertised position.